Old Hymn #2

This hymn is a old one written by Isaac Watts in 1719. It’s a great “call to worship” or “beginning of worship” hymn.

1.Early, my God, without delay, I haste to seek Thy face; my thirsty spirit faints away, without Thy cheering grace.

2.I’ve seen Thy glory and Thy power through all They temple shine; My God, repeat that heavenly hour, that vision so divine.

3.Not all the blessings of a feast can please my soul so well, as when Thy richer grace I taste, and in They presence dwell.

4. Not life itself, with all its joys, can my best passions move, or raise so high my cheerful voice, as Thy forgiving love.

5.Thus till my last expiring day, I’ll bless my God and King; thus will I lift my hands to pray, and tune my lips to sing.

Watts writes the singer as thirsty, in desperate needs of God’s grace. Isn’t this our condition every day and as we gather with the Body each week? We don’t gather as people who are trying to impress or appease God. We gather as a parched people in need of a drink of God’s grace.

Not only are we in such need, what God supplies for our thirst is greater than any other remedy in this world. The greatest feast this earth can present is nothing compared to the spread of God’s grace available to us. Nothing can motivate our desires and wills like God’s fountain of grace.

In response, the grace-filled heart will worship the gracious God until the end.

Amen.

Leave a comment