Teen Faith (Part 1)

My youth group and I returned from Summer camp a few days ago and I always try to debrief and identify specific movements of God in my life and my group’s life as well as other significant moments and highlights. Each year is unique in many ways with our group and individuals learning and experiencing different things. God is always at work in many different ways in each soul.

However, some things never change. There are certain truths and issues all teenagers and adults wrestle through. In my own life as a teenager and in my twelve years of student ministry most Christian teenagers (especially in a camp setting or another profound spiritual moment) experience confusion and doubt regarding their salvation. Teens lacking assurance of their faith (and adults for that matter I guess) is likened to standing in the water at the beach. There will be moments of peace and stability but before long a wave is going to come that knocks you off balance. You will regain your balance, then later, another will come.

I believe there are a few primary things that bring about the struggle of assurance that they are saved.

THEY MAY NOT BE

The longer I serve in the church and in student ministry the more clearly I realize the number of unsaved students in the church is greater than I may think. I think of what Jesus said in Matthew 7:13-14, “Enter by the narrow gate. For the gate is wide and the way is easy that leads to destruction, and those who enter it are many. For the date is narrow and the way is hard that leads to life, and those who find it are few” (ESV). Later in verses 21-23 Jesus also said, “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. On that day many will say to me, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and cast out demons in your name, and do many might works in your name?’ And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from me, you workers of lawlessness’ (ESV).

Many, MANY will be convinced that they will be received into the Kingdom of Heaven only to realize, when it is too late, that they will be cast out. A primary application of these passages is that there are many, MANY in our churches and youth groups who believe they are saved and are not. Many teenagers struggle to possess assurance of saving faith (and they should) because they do not possess saving faith at all.

CONVICTION OF SIN

A common struggle with teens in their faith is how to handle conviction of sin. Most Christian teenagers when they experience conviction of sin automatically doubt their salvation. They incorrectly reason, “True Christians don’t sin that much, therefore I might not be a true Christian”, or, “Why am I committing the same sins on a regular basis? I must not be saved. My profession of faith when I was younger didn’t ‘take.'” Many also interpret the deep feelings that may accompany conviction such as sorrow, embarrassment, humility, regret, shame, etc., as proof of their lack of salvation. This is one reason why many young people find themselves “asking Jesus into their hearts”, or making another profession of faith, or “rededicating” their lives to Jesus numerous times. They reason that each time they feel the conviction of the Holy Spirit, it must mean he or she is being prompted to trust Christ for salvation and become a Christian.

IGNORANCE

Unfortunately, many students question their salvation because of their lack of understanding of what saving faith is and how to actually possess saving faith and its assurance. They simply don’t know, period. They have not been taught well, if at all, what the Bible teaches. They have grown up confused, ignorant, and basing their conclusions on weak doctrine at best and false teaching at worst. They will consistently struggle because they do not have clear biblical answers to their questions. This is not always the church’s or youth pastor’s fault, but too often it is. Much responsibility also lies with Christian parents to teach their children well. Unfortunately, many parents are just as confused and unsure as their children are.

In some following posts, I will address each of these issues in greater detail. What do you think? I know these are pretty broad. Did I miss any?

One thought on “Teen Faith (Part 1)

Leave a comment